Presented by: 
Lehigh University
June 23, 2019 (All day) - June 28, 2019 (All day)
Lehigh University
27 Memorial Drive West
Bethlehem, PA 18015

Hosted by Lehigh University

During the week-long Special Education Law Symposium, the following nineteen accomplished special education attorneys (both sides) will lecture, conduct discussions with registrants, and provide detailed lecture outlines with case law citations: Hope Blackburn (New Jersey), Maria Blaeuer (Maryland), Matt Cohen (Illinois), Gina DeCrescenzo (New York), Justin Gilbert (Tennessee), Isabel Machado (New Jersey), Thomas Mayes (Iowa), Kathleen Mehfoud (Virginia), Courtney Spencer (Connecticut), Rachel Stafford (District of Columbia), Julie Weatherly (Alabama), and Pennsylvania attorneys Andrew Faust, Brian Jason Ford, Dr. Stephen Jacobson, Hollie John, Maura McInerneyBrooke Say, Liliana Yazno-Bartle, and Dr. Perry Zirkel.

Registrants have multiple options:

  • Earn three Lehigh University graduate credits, qualify for CLE attorney credits approved by the PA Continuing Legal Education Board, earn Act 48 credits for PA educators, or enroll for non-credit professional development.
  • Attend the full week or per day, depending upon registrant interest.
  • For Monday through Thursday sessions, select either a basic track for those new to special education law, or an advanced track for experienced registrants.
  • Attend the Section 504 Coordinators Institute on Thursday/Friday as a stand alone conference, or add on extra symposium days to the Section 504 Institute.

The symposium begins on Sunday evening with a dinner and keynote lecture provided by Laurie VanderPloeg, Director, Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP), U. S. Department of Education, and concludes on Friday with Dr. Zirkel’s National Case Law Update and Crystal Ball. The Friday session includes a working luncheon.

Consider registering early


Lehigh University telephone: (610) 758-3000